The Association consists of a 64 member Governing Council called the African Bar Council which is the highest decision taking arm of the Association. It consists of a Chairman ( not normally from the country where the President of the Association is from), a Vice- Chairman, a Secretary of the Association and an alter secretary who serves as the deputy general secretary of the Association. The Chairman presides over the Council and in his absence the Vice-Chairman, Senior Vice President of the Association (member). Vice-presidents of the different sub-regions (members), Director of information/protocol (member), Director of Budget / Finance (member), Treasurer (member and Honorary life members.

Nomination into the General Council is done by the President in collaboration with the Executive committee.



The Executive Committee is made up of the President, Senior Vice – President , Vice- presidents, representing the sub-regions, the General Secretary, Deputy General Secretary / International Liaison Manager, Director of information/ protocol, Director of Budgets/ Finance, Treasurer, director of Conference/ Welfare Services, Country Coordinators, Honorary life president, Ex-officio members(Honorary past General Secretary, Honorary past Senior Vice-President, Honorary past Vice-President). These two arms form the highest decision making organs of the Association. In order to further reach out to all members in the various member states, AFBA recommends the creation of national committees in each member state. Decisions are usually by way of protocols.




Payments powered by

Payment Gateways

Contact Us

19 Adeola Hopewell Street, CIBN Building, 5th Floor, Victoria Island, Lagos.

+234 806 493 8136

+234 815 934 6159

+234 803 435 2861

+234 807 973 0000

© 2020 The African Bar Association. All Rights Reserved. Developed By Maubtec